A Look Back on My Yoga Journey: October to May

I graduated from 200 hour PYT training just a couple weeks ago. I found myself a little lost after I walked away from all my omies and realized I would no longer be spending every hour of my Saturday and three hours of my Wednesday evening in the studio, on our mats, together.

It was the epitome of bittersweet. My wildest dream came true, and I was left with all good things. Opportunity for the future, and the wonderful memories and growth that came with my training were overflowing in my heart.

For me, yoga teacher training was not at all what I expected. It was more difficult than I could have ever imagined, but in the best way possible. We started as a group of total strangers, and ended as a little family of yogis. I never imagined to learn as much as I did in such a short amount of time. 8 weeks is a long time, but in the grand scheme of things, it’s just a blink of the eye.

Through teacher training, I learned more about myself than I ever had before. I learned to push my limits, to love with a full, open heart, to trust, to laugh, to be comfortable in my mat and with students and teachers. I learned what resonated with me, and I left behind what didn’t click with me.

I found teachers I adored, friends I’ll forever cherish, and skills I’ll continue to hone. The studio I trained at, CorePower Yoga, was the best place I ever could have asked to step into. Within the first few days of living in Boulder, countless people suggested I check out CorePower on The Hill, but I was skeptical. I began as a self-taught yogi, watching youtube videos and making it up as I went along. The first studio I ever went to was in my hometown in Maryland during my senior year of high school, and I couldn’t imagine finding anywhere close to the love and joy in that small, home-y studio. CorePower blew me away from the start. I was hooked after the first class, and it was there, above a pizza place on The Hill, where I fell deeper in love with my practice.

I met teachers who inspired me, found yogis I admired from afar, and realized I wanted to take the next step with teacher training in January of this year.

Now it’s May 2016, and I teach my first yoga class to family and friends this Saturday on the back porch of the house I grew up in. Which is unbelievably awesome and nerve-wracking all at once. Being a yoga teacher was one of those dreams that I never thought would happen. The one you keep in the back of your mind, like “yeah, that’d be cool, but I don’t know if I’ll ever get there.” And now I’m there. I can’t hold arm balances forever, I’m still working on my handstand, and I have my bad days on my mat still, but I’m a yoga teacher now. And I can’t wait to see where my practice goes from here.

If you take away anything from this little bit of story time, I hope it might be this: That dream in the back of your mind, whatever it is you might be cultivating in your own life, that idea itching at your brain, give it a chance, and see where it might take you. Don’t ever be afraid to dream big.

8 thoughts on “A Look Back on My Yoga Journey: October to May

  1. Kathaleen Klotz says:

    First let me dry away the tears. Tears of feeling and appreciation for you-you and your way if being, sharing and expression.

    A delightful lovely sharing of your experience!

    The Circle of Life with all if it’s grace and joy!

    Thank you Caroline. I love you,Mimi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Theresa Smith says:

    Powerful words. Incredible insight. Solid advice. Fantastic blog.
    Growing, blooming, inspiring…that’s you! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

